The by-election held on May 31st 2018 was a result of Court of Appeal nullifying the 2016 election of NRM’s Winfred Matsiko on grounds of voter bribery.

To track the day’s activities, CCEDU deployed a team of 27 stationary and mobile observers who sampled 67 out of the 270 polling stations in all the 16 Sub Counties that comprise Rukungiri district.

Preliminary findings of the observation team were:

Opening of the Poll:

In an unprecedented move to ensure that polling materials arrive at the polling stations in time, the Electoral Commission dispatched materials to the furthest four (4) sub counties of Bikurungu Town Council, Nyakishenyi Sub-county, Bwambara Sub-county and Nyarushanje Sub-county on 30st May 2018 at 7:00pm. The rest of the polling materials were dispatched to the remaining 12 Sub Counties between 4:00am and 7:00am on the polling day (May 31, 2018). Despite EC’s resolve to have polling stations open in time, some of the polling stations, especially those around Rukungiri town received polling material as late as 8.00am. Rukungiri stadium, Rwakabengo Health Centre3, are some of the polling stations that delayed to commence voting due to late receipt of polling materials.

Former presidential candidate Dr. Kiiza Besigye interracts with CCEDU Observers after casting his vote on 31st May 2018 in Rukungiri District

CCEDU also observed that at some polling stations, the mandatory 5 voters required to allow for the opening of a polling station were not present. Polling stations such as Kinyasano Cathedral Polling station in Western Division voting delayed to start due to lack of the 5 mandatory voters required to commence polling.

Download statement